Pre-Shaving Oil for Men or Women ~ Fast and Cheap Homemade Christmas Gift

Leave a comment

Christmas is mere hours away, which means that the mad dash toward the end has begun.  Inspired by this video, I decided to give a few of my (hard-to-shop-for) male relatives some pre-shaving oil (like this, but much cheaper!), which helps soften hair prior to shaving, prepares the skin for shaving, protects it during the process, leaves it soft afterward, and prevents razor burn.  My husband swears by pre-shaving oil, but this is a great last-minute, inexpensive, handmade gift for women or men.

A little shaving oil goes a long way–most store-bought pre-shaving oils come in 2oz jars, so you don’t need much to create a nice gift.

P1030366

The Ingredients

1. Extra Virgin Olive Oil

2. Castor Oil

3. Jojoba Oil

4. Essential Oil (optional, but highly-recommended)

5. Measuring cup

6. Garnish (optional)

7. Storage Bottle/Container.  I found the bottles shown above at Michaels Craft Store for about $1, but in a pinch, you can use any jar/bottle you can find.  I almost used a tiny bottle of worchestire sauce (which I planned to empty into a larger container for our use) that had been cleaned and aired-out.

8. Tag with directions for use and ingredients (optional)

The Recipe

1.  If you don’t know how many ounces your storage container holds, fill it with water and pour into a measuring cup to find out (then dry it out).

2.  Pour roughly equal amounts of olive, jojoba, and castor oil into the jar.  I fudged a little on this and added less jojoba oil because I was running out, so this recipe is by no means strict.  To make it a bit cheaper, you can use more olive oil than other the oils. Hint: If you are making multiple bottles of this, figure out the total number of ounces of oil you will need, combine (equalish parts of) them all into a larger container, and pour from there.

3. Add your essential oil, cap the storage container, and shake.  While essential oils are usually optional, olive oil has a lingering odor that may not be pleasing to slather on your face or other body parts, so I highly suggest using a bit of it.  I chose cinnamon, and added about 10-15 drops per ounce.

4.  Add any garnish (like dried mint, bay leaf, cinnamon stick, etc), cap, and present!

The Result

I tested this bad boy out (because I had to know if it worked or not) and was extremely pleased to find that it made shaving much easier.  I slathered it on under conditioner (with which I shave) on one leg, and shaved normally on the other leg.  I had no razor burn on the oiled leg (which I cannot say was true for the other one), my skin was soft afterward, and very lightly scented with cinnamon.  I had such a great experience with it that I’m going to make myself a little Christmas present of it as well!

Author: traxie2001

Seminarian, Wife, Mother...Awesome! :)

Share Your Thoughts Here

