Herbal Bath Tea ~ Beautiful, Frugal Homemade Christmas Gift in about Five Minutes

Leave a comment

I’ve been testing out recipes like mad to find great homemade gifts for friends and family that won’t break the bank or spend hours to create.  I was delighted to tweak the bath tea recipe I found here (and to try it out!).  This bath treatment requires ingredients that are very easy to find, inexpensive, and highly customizable, and, it takes about 5 minutes or so to compile everything.

Image

The Recipe

Basic Ingredients:

1. Epsom Salt

2. Dry Herbs (in the form of tea, spices, etc).

3. Organza bag, washcloth, or other sheer material

Additional Options

4. Olive, Coconut, or Castor Oil

5. Your Choice of Essential Oil

6. Vanilla Extract

7. Food Coloring

Image

Directions:

1. Pour epsom salt into a mixing bowl (the amount you use depends on how much final product you want to create and what other ingredients you include).  If you want to color it, mix in your food coloring.  I used about 2 cups of epsom salt.

Image

2. Add tea/herbs and blend well with salt.  I used a 1/3 of a cup of loose tea and about 3 tablespoons of rosemary.

Image

3. Slowly add oil, blending well.  I used coconut oil because of its fantastic softening properties (and divine scent).  I added about 2 tablespoons of coconut oil and blended it extremely well (you have to mash and pound the oil with your spatula/spoon).

Image

4. Add essential oils and blend well.  A little goes a long way!  If you have any other scents you would like to add (like vanilla extract), now’s the time.  I used about 15 drops of spearmint.

Image

5. Blend everything well–its consistency should look something like this:

Image

6. Spoon into air-tight container (to keep it fresh longer).  Include an organza bag (or other item in which to stash the concoction) and attach a note with ingredients and directions for use.

Image

My Experience

I had my first herbal tea bath right before writing this post.  My legs were sore from running around like crazy yesterday, and I wanted something soothing to help ease the aches.  I drew my bath (tying the organza bag around the faucet so the ingredients would begin to disperse immediately), then sank into deliciously-scented water.

Image

The coconut oil made the bath water moisturizing but not greasy, the tea added a little color and a wonderful scent, and the peppermint essential oil was invigorating.  I used the organza bag as a loofah on my arms and legs once all the salt had dissolved.  Finally, I finished up bathing, rinsed out my organza bag, and let it air dry in anticipation of my next heavenly bath.

Image Image

Author: traxie2001

Seminarian, Wife, Mother...Awesome! :)

Share Your Thoughts Here

