Five Frugal Beauty Gifts That Will Save Your Friends Money

Leave a comment

In the spirit of frugality, why not give you gal-pals beauty gifts that will save them money?  My favorites are:

1. Beautyblender: $20 for 2, Amazon.com

Image

This soft, teardrop sponge does a fantastic job of applying foundation (especially liquid).  I used to spend a pretty penny (i.e. $40 or so!) on foundation because only the expensive brands came close to giving me the coverage I needed.  But, when I tried out the beauty blender, I was delighted to find that not only did it work well with drugstore foundations, it also took less foundation to achieve the desired effect.  Finally, its unique shape allows for both general and precise application of foundation/concealer.  So, you don’t need a separate brush to apply concealer to blemishes and dark under-eye circles.  It’s an all in one tool!

2. Precision Pore Cleansing Pad: $5, Sephora.com

Image

It’s been a year since I first began using this scrubber as part of my nightly facial cleansing routine.  The pad is made of silicone which gently exfoliates and freshens your skin, allowing you not only to avoid using toner, but also requiring less cleanser than you would normally use. I’m still using the scrubber I bought last year.  For $5, this is a great and frugal gift.

3. Pack of Six Mini Bath Sponges: $5, Amazon.com

While a bath sponge may not be the most original idea, a pack of mini bath sponges promotes not only better hygiene (by encouraging your friend to trash old sponges), it also saves the user money by requiring less soap.  As I have noted, I used to dollop a whopping dose of body wash onto my sponge without realizing that I needed much less to clean as well.  A mini sponge “tricks” you into using a smaller amount of soap, because the sponge itself is smaller.  This gift is perfect when paired with your favorite body wash.

Image

4. Razorpit Razor Cleaner: $22, Amazon.com

Image

This nifty little gadget extends the life of your razor by removing dirt and grime from the blades.  Instead of constantly paying a premium for new blades, this product allows you to get more uses out of your current blade.  Depending on your shaving habits, it will pay for itself in as little a month!  An old leather belt works well too, but is not as aesthetically appealing as the Razorpit. 🙂

5. Accu-Massage: $25, Amazon

Image

I know what you’re probably thinking–what does this product have to do with beauty or frugality?  Let me explain.  The accu-massage is, put simply, the single most effective self-massage tool I have ever used (and, I’ve run the gamut of do-it-yourself massages).  It gets down to business in the hard-to-reach areas like your next and shoulders, lower back, and more.  I consider this the perfect beauty tool because it helps me to relieve stress (which has been shown to cause all sorts of beauty woes).

Furthermore, this tool is actually frugal in a few ways.  First, it is much cheaper than many of the “at home” massagers.  But, it also helps to thwart frequent masseur and chiropractor visits, can prevent headaches, and help you sleep better, have better circulation and flexibility, and a whole host of other benefits.

This gift is on my own list for several people this year (men and women alike!) and I heartily recommend it.

Author: traxie2001

Seminarian, Wife, Mother...Awesome! :)

Share Your Thoughts Here

